MU’s Phi Kappa Phi installs 93 inductees during initiation ceremony

MU’s Phi Kappa Phi installs 93 inductees during initiation ceremony


Marymount University’s chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi – the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines – inducted 93 new members during a ceremony held last month at the Ballston Center.

These honorees are among approximately 25,000 students, faculty, staff and alumni initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation and requires nomination and approval by chapters. Only 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors (having at least 72 semester hours) are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

To date, Marymount’s chapter has inducted 455 members since its chartering in 2019.

MU’s Phi Kappa Phi installs 93 inductees during initiation ceremony
Marymount Provost Hesham El-Rewini speaks during the induction ceremony


New alumni inductees include Abrar Alfouzan, Erin Brown, Kathryn Butler, Piyali Das, Michelle Forster, James Harbour, Michelle Harner, Sally Harney, Robert Klazynski, Andrew Lee, Leora Lihach, Mary Meckley, Rocio Nieto, Mamatha Raghunath, Monica Rodriguez and Lisa Sanders.

New faculty and staff member inductees include:

Fifteen undergraduate students were inducted, including: Yordanos Abate, Mariana Altamira, Maria Delgado, Madison Diba, Andrew Emmanuel, Karen Espinal, Melissa Gomez Angarita, Natalia Ivanauskas, Luke Mazur, Fabian Munoz-Velasquez, Jayde Padilla, William Rash Jr., Brenna Robinson, Daniel Stone and Nicole Zumot.

Fifty-six graduate inductees were inducted, including: Hani Al Alkhashab, Suda Alamri, Edem Atatsi, Valerie Bartonico, Samuel Boateng, Shannon Brogan, Lucy Butler, Flordeliza Cadiz Marks, Tonia Callender, Helen Castle, Ellen Chacon, Natalie Collins, Dominique Cytryn, Heidi Darsch, Stephanie Davis, Darlene Dobbs Harlley, Mora Downs, Aimee Emerson, Christian Erlenbusch, Alijah Forbes, Shantia Garrett, Marie Gemelli-Carroll, Hanan Halabi, Susan Henderson-Utis, Alphons Iacobelli, Clinton Ilges III, Rebecca Judge, Damaris Kinney, Kelsey Kirrene, Adriana Loecher, Jonathan Luckett, Karla Luke, Sienna Mathes, Roderick Mitchener, Maria Mondala-Duncan, Kenneth Myers, Franklyn Nicol, Vito Nozza, Rymn Parsons, Misti Jo Payton, Elizabeth Rodarte, Colleen Ryan, Stacie Sather, Jennifer Scully, Lisa Shumaker, Barbara Simmons, Clifton Stone, Amy Strong, Bipun Thapa, Yashima Thomas-Jones, Denise Tiberio, Meredith Timmons, Emma Virden, Aaron Weathersby, Jackie Williams and Sarah Yates.

MU’s Phi Kappa Phi installs 93 inductees during initiation ceremony
Dr. Sarah Fischer during the 2023 induction ceremony


Officers for the 2022-23 academic year are:

  • Sarah Fischer, President
  • Jonathan Reynolds, President Elect
  • Alison Gregory, Secretary and Awards Coordinator
  • Catherine England, Treasurer
  • Alice Petillo, Membership Coordinator
  • Todd Rimkus, Service Coordinator
  • Bridget Murphy, Communications Coordinator
  • Susanne Ninassi, Board Member-at-Large
  • YuLin Bingle, Cecilia Dinah Emmanuel, Samantha King and Isabella Ochalik, Student Vice Presidents

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and headquartered in Baton Rouge, La., Phi Kappa Phi has chapters on more than 325 college and university campuses in the U.S. and the Philippines. Its mission is “to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.” Click here to learn more.