Our History

Founded by the Religious of the Sacred Heart of Mary

The name “Marymount” has long been associated with excellence in education. The Religious of the Sacred Heart of Mary, founders of Marymount University, provide Marymount with a heritage, spirit, and tradition that date back all the way to the founding of the RSHM Order in Béziers, France, in 1849 by Father Pierre Jean Antoine Gailhac and the first RSHM member, Mother St. Jean. The learning institutions they began would evolve into a worldwide network of schools and colleges, including Marymount University. The roots of Marymount’s founding Congregation reflect a commitment to education and to serving those in need – a commitment that remains vital at Marymount today.

Beziers, France at sunset

Marymount University, the first Catholic college to be established in Virginia, was founded in 1950. Through the years, it has grown from a two-year college for women into a comprehensive, coeducational Catholic university serving approximately 3,500 undergraduate and graduate students.

While much has changed since the early years as a result of greatly expanded programs and services, the university’s core values and mission have held steady.

Our History


1948 Lodge Hall

Our History
Marymount is initially founded by RSHM as a girls’ high school. Classrooms are located in the fieldstone guest house of what had once been a private estate. Today, that guest house, now known as the Lodge, is home to Student Affairs Division offices.



Our History

Marymount Junior College is founded by Mother Gerard Phelan, RSHM, as a two-year women’s college at the suggestion of Bishop Peter L. Ireton of Richmond. It opens with 13 students.

Mother Gerard Phelan, RSHM


The original property – which included a mansion (now Marymount’s Main House), stone guest house (the Lodge), and two cottages – was formerly the residence of Rear Admiral Presley M. Rixey, White House physician to Presidents William McKinley and Theodore Roosevelt.

Marymount’s Main House


Sister Elizabeth Gallagher, RSHM, becomes Marymount’s first president, serving until 1955.

Sister Elizabeth Gallagher, RSHM

Sister Berchmans Walsh, RSHM

Our History

Sister Berchmans Walsh, RSHM, becomes Marymount’s second president, serving until 1960.


Our History

The institution is incorporated as Marymount College of Virginia, an independent college governed by an autonomous board of directors.

incorporated as Marymount College of Virginia


Sister M. Majella Berg, RSHM, becomes Marymount’s third president, serving for 33 years.

Sister M. Majella Berg, RSHM

Bishop John J. Russell

Our History

Bishop John J. Russell dedicates Marymount’s first modern student residence, Gerard Phelan Hall. It’s a welcome addition as there is a waiting list for the small number of rooms in the existing residence halls.


Our History

Marymount High School closes.


Gerard Phelan Annex

Our History

Gerard Phelan Annex is developed.


Our History

Men are first admitted to the Nursing program.

Men are first admitted to the Nursing program


Our History

Marymount becomes a senior college offering the bachelor’s degree in more than 20 fields.



Our History

Graduate programs leading to the master’s degree are added; many of these programs are coeducational.

Graduate programs

oeducational at all levels

Our History

The institution responds to its changing student profile by becoming coeducational at all levels and changing its name to Marymount University.


Our History

Marymount Junior School closes its doors.


Marymount’s Ballston Center

Our History

Marymount’s Ballston Center is established.


Our History

Sister Eymard Gallagher, RSHM, becomes Marymount’s fourth president, serving until 2001.

Sister Eymard Gallagher, RSHM

Dr. James E. Bundschuh

Our History

Dr. James E. Bundschuh becomes Marymount’s fifth president and first lay leader, serving until 2011. He is then named President Emeritus.


Our History

Marymount offers its first doctoral degree, the clinical Doctor of Physical Therapy.

offers its first doctoral degree

Reston Center

Our History

Marymount opens its Reston Center, serving adult students primarily through evening and Saturday courses.


Our History

Marymount offers its second doctoral program, the clinical Doctor of Nursing Practice.


Rose Benté Lee Ostapenko Hall

Our History

Marymount’s new residence hall, Rose Benté Lee Ostapenko Hall, opens in the fall, providing apartment-style living.


Our History

The new academic building for the sciences and health sciences, Caruthers Hall, opens for classes in January.

Caruthers Hall


A statue of longtime Marymount president Sister M. Majella Berg, RSHM, is dedicated outside Caruthers Hall. Sisters of the Religious of the Sacred Heart of Mary attend the ceremony.

A statue of longtime Marymount president Sister M. Majella Berg, RSHM


Marymount University welcomes Dr. Matthew D. Shank as its sixth president.

Dr. Matthew D. Shank

The Ballston building is razed and construction begins

Our History

The Ballston building is razed and construction begins on new facilities.


Our History

The opening of the new Ballston Center coincides with the first day of classes for the Fall semester.

opening of the new Ballston Center

doctorate in cybersecurity

Our History

Marymount launches a doctorate in cybersecurity designed for working professionals who will pursue applied research in the field.

Dr. Irma Becerra

Dr. Irma Becerra is named Marymount’s seventh president.