Distinguished Visiting Professors

The Distinguished Visiting Professor Colloquium Series is a University wide program that brings prominent speakers throughout the academic year to Marymount’s campus.

The primary goal of the Series is to enrich the intellectual life of the academic community. The program provides opportunities for Marymount faculty and students to interact with individuals who have significant influence in a wide array of fields.

Distinguished Visiting Professors offer first-hand insights into the worlds of finance, technology, government, health care, the media, and more. Their presentations enable the members of Marymount’s academic community to become more attuned to the challenges and opportunities prevalent in diverse areas of endeavor. Through the Series, the University’s faculty and students engage in substantive dialogue with leaders who shape and influence our world.

All Distinguished Visiting Professors are listed with their roles at the time of their presentations.

Bill Milliken

School of Education and Human Services Lecturer
Youth Advocate and Founder of Communities in Schools, Inc.

Eileen O’Grady, PhD, RN, NP-BC

Malek School of Health Professions Lecturer
Certified Nurse Practitioner and Wellness Coach

John F. Haught

Senior Fellow, Science and Religion
Woodstock Theological Center, Georgetown University

Stephen J. Suomi

Chief of the Laboratory of Comparative Ethology
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, National Institutes of Health

David Seiders

Chief Economist and Senior Staff Vice President
National Association of Home Builders

James Axtell

Kenan Professor of Humanities
College of William and Mary

William H. Rauckhorst, Ph.D.

Energy Ethics Expert
Professor of Physics, Miami University (Ohio)

Thomas A. Shippey

Medieval Scholar and Tolkien Expert
Walter J. Ong Chair of Humanities, Saint Louis University

Marybeth Brown

Professor of Physical Therapy
University of Missouri – Columbia

John A. Allison IV

Chairman and CEO
BB&T Corporation

Amitai Etzioni

Institute for Communitarian Policy Studies,
The George Washington University

Rita Colwell

Former Director
National Science Foundation

Vinton G. Cerf

Senior Vice President for Architecture and Technology

John J. McDonnell, Jr.

Chairman and CEO
Transaction Network Services, Inc.

The Honorable William T. Coleman

Senior Partner and the Senior Counselor
O’Melveny and Myers, LLP
Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation

Mario Morino

Chairman, The Morino Institute and Venture Philanthrophy Partners
Special Partner, General Atlantic Partners

Frederick W. Smith

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
FedEx Corporation

Bishop Joseph M. Sullivan, D.D.

Auxiliary Bishop, Diocese of Brooklyn
Executive Vice President, Board of Trustees
Catholic Charities of Brooklyn

William E. Conway, Jr.

Founding Partner and Managing Director
The Carlyle Group

Joseph E. Robert, Jr.

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
J.E. Robert Companies

Rajendra Singh

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Telcom Ventures, LLC

Cokie Roberts

ABC News Chief Congressional Analyst
Correspondent, This Week with Sam Donaldson and Cokie Roberts

Michael Hegarty

President and Chief Operating Officer
The Equitable Life Assurance Society

Dana Mead

Chairman and CEO

Olza M. Nicely

President and Chief Executive Officer

Rose Marie Bravo


H. Brian Thompson

Chairman and CEO
LCI International, Inc.

Frederic V. Malek

Thayer Capital Partners

Edward D. Miller

Senior Vice Chairman
The Chase Manhattan Corporation

Mark R. Warner

Managing Director
Columbia Capital Corporation

William J. Bennett

Empower America

Barry J. Fitzpatrick

Chairman and CEO
First Virginia Banks, Inc.

The Honorable Jack F. Kemp

Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Warren E. Buffett

Chairman and CEO
Berkshire Hathaway, Inc.

John J. Curley

Chairman, President, and CEO
Gannett Company, Inc.

Lawrence T. Babbio, Esq.

President and COO
Bell Atlantic Corporation

Senator J. William Fulbright

Former United States Senator

J. Willard Marriott, Jr.

Chairman and President
Marriott International Corporation, Inc.

Allen E. Murray

Chairman and CEO
Mobil Corporation

Norma T. Pace

President and CEO
Economic Consulting and Planning
Chairman, Board of Governors
U.S. Postal Service

William A. Schreyer

Chairman and CEO
Merrill Lynch & Company

Frank A. Bennack, Jr.

President and CEO
The Hearst Corporation

James O. Edwards

Chairman and CEO
ICF Kaiser International, Inc.

Thomas S. Johnson

Former President
Manufacturers Hanover Corporation

John F. McGillicuddy

Chairman and CEO
Chemical Banking Corporation

Diane Ravitch

Assistant Secretary for Education
U.S. Department of Education

Charles O. Rossotti

Chairman and CEO
American Management Systems

Frederic V. Salerno

Vice Chairman
NYNEX Corporation

Lawrence M. Small

Federal National Mortgage Association

Preston Robert Tisch

Chairman and Co-CEO
Loews Corporation

Celestino Beltran

President and CEO
Comprehensive Technologies International

J. Peter Grace

Chairman and CEO
W.R. Grace and Company

Lawrence A. Kudlow

Senior Managing Director and Chief Economist
The Bear Stearns Company, Inc.

The Honorable Antonia Novello

Surgeon General of the United States

The Honorable Maxwell M. Rabb

Former U.S. Ambassador to Italy

E. John Rosenwald, Jr.

Vice Chairman
The Bear Stearns Company, Inc.