Marya McLaughlin Lectureship in Media Communications

The Marya McLaughlin Endowed Lectureship in Media Communications honors a well-known CBS News radio and television correspondent, and each year provides Marymount students and faculty with valuable insights and inspiration from journalists of national stature.


David Gelles
A five-time Emmy Award-winning Executive Producer of CNN’s Political Programming
Gelles won four Emmy awards for his work on The Today Show and another for his work on NBC’s documentary, Inside the Obama White House.

Carol Leonnig

An investigative and enterprise journalist at the Washington Post
Pulitzer Prize-winner, Polk Award for Political Reporting recipient, Selden Ring Award for Investigative Reporting recipient

Justin Kenny

Small Footprints Film, Owner
Foreign and defense editor and contributor, PBS Newshour
Emmy Award Winner, Peabody award winner, Marymount graduate

Myron Belkind

Associated Press foreign correspondent and bureau chief

Steven V. Roberts

Nationally known journalist, political analyst, and author

Mark Shields

Syndicated columnist and political analyst, PBS NewsHour

Kathleen McCleery

Deputy Executive Producer, The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer

Gordon Peterson

Anchor of WJLA-TV 7’s News at 6 p.m.
Moderator and producer of Inside Washington

Andrea Roane

Emmy award-winning journalist
Co-anchor, W*USA 9 News Now

Bob Steele

Media ethicist and the Nelson Poynter Scholar for Journalism Values at The Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Florida

Bob Edwards

Host, The Bob Edwards Show, XM Public Radio
Former Host, Morning Edition, National Public Radio

Helen Thomas

Washington columnist, Hearst News Service

Bob Levey

Columnist, The Washington Post

Bob Schieffer

Chief Washington Correspondent, CBS News
Anchor/Moderator, Face the Nation

Roger Mudd

Award-winning broadcast journalist