Home >  News and Events >  News Details  

News and Events

Dr. Lisa Jackson-Cherry Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Monday, April 15, 2013
At the recent American Counseling Association (ACA) conference in Cincinnati, Ohio, Dr. Lisa Jackson-Cherry, LCPC, ACS, NCC, NCSC, chair of Marymount University’s Department of Counseling, was presented with the Dr. Judy Miranti Lifetime Service Award by the Association for Spiritual, Ethical, and Religious Values in Counseling (ASERVIC, an ACA division).

Dr. Jackson-Cherry has been an active member of ASERVIC for 15 years and has served as board member, secretary, president, and past president. She is currently serving a three-year term on the leadership team of the Governing Council of the American Counseling Association as the ASERVIC representative. Her service and leadership have helped to promote ASERVIC’s ideals, values, and programs for the counseling profession.

Dr. Michele Garofalo, assistant chair of Marymount’s Department of Counseling and director of the school counseling program, points out that the university has also benefited from Dr. Jackson-Cherry’s dedication to the counseling profession. She notes, “Marymount’s counseling programs have flourished as a result of her tireless efforts, dedication, and leadership.”

During her 13 years at Marymount, Dr. Jackson Cherry has helped strengthen and expand the Department of Counseling – establishing the M.A. in Pastoral Counseling program and the Ed.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision.

Before joining Marymount, she had clinical experiences as a mobile crisis team coordinator, group facilitator in a women’s prison, conflict resolution counselor, behavioral specialist, and crisis intervention training facilitator for law enforcement. She currently works with children and families on the Eastern Shore and provides group counseling during National Police Week for children who have lost a parent in the line of duty. Her dedication to the counseling field has previously been recognized with the ACA’s Carl Perkins Award for Legislative and Governmental Relations.