Home >  News and Events >  News Details  

News and Events

Marymount Athletics Announces Year-End Awards at Annual Banquet

Tuesday, April 19, 2011
Arlington, Va. – Marymount University’s athletics department announced its year-end awards at its annual student-athlete recognition banquet on Monday night. Junior men’s soccer player Kjell Crooke was named Male Athlete of the Year while senior women’s basketball player Maame Amponsah and junior women’s swimmer Anna Macedonia were named Co-Female Athletes of the Year.

On the academic side, Macedonia was also named the Linda McMahon Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year while senior men’s swimmer Brian Tinsman garnered Linda McMahon Male Scholar Athlete of the Year honors. Junior student manager Karen Nevin was honored with the James Shelton Award.

Male and Female Athlete of the Year Awards
Kjell Crooke, Jr., Men’s Soccer
Crooke led the Saints in scoring on the year and logged the fifth most points in a single season for the Saints in program history. He was named First Team All-Capital Athletic Conference, Second Team All-State by the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association and Third Team NSCAA All-South Atlantic Region. With nine goals and five assists, he ranked 4th in the CAC in goals and points and placed just outside the top-100 nationally.

Maame Amponsah, Sr., Women’s Basketball
Amponsah led the SSC and NCAA Division III in rebounding and posted 17 double-doubles en route to CAC Player of the Year honors. She grabbed the most rebounds in a season at Marymount, fifth most ever in the CAC in a season, and set the single game record with 22 this year against Frostburg State. A First Team All-CAC selection, Maame was also Second Team D3Hoops.Com All-Atlantic Region, Richmond Times Dispatch All-State and Third Team Capital One/Cosida Academic All-District.

Anna Macedonia, Jr., Women’s Swimming
Macedonia had one of the best seasons in the water for a Marymount swimmer, earning CAC Swimmer of the Year honors and All-CAC recognition in five events. She broke MU records this year in the 50 Freestyle, 100 Backstroke, 200 Backstroke and 200 Free Relay and holds four CAC top times on the year. An NCAA ‘A’ Qualifier in the 100 back and 200 back, she was also a ‘B’ qualifier in the 50 free. Macedonia capped of the year at the NCAA Championships with a 10th place finish in the 100 back to garner Honorable Mention All-America Honors.

Linda McMahon Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award
Brian Tinsman, Sr., Men’s Swimming
Tinsman posted a 3.96 grade point average in communications over the past two semesters. Also the editor of The Banner, he boasts All-CAC accolades as well.

Anna Macedonia, Jr., Women’s Swimming
Macedonia posted a 3.97 grade point average with a major in art education. She was also an All-CAC performer, CAC Player of the Year, and Honorable Mention All-American.

James Shelton Award
Karen Nevin, Jr., Student Manager
The James Shelton award is presented to the person who personifies the positive nature, loyalty, team-first attitude, and commitment to Marymount for which James Shelton has always been known. Junior Karen Nevin can be seen on the sidelines of multiple teams events, helping with the cross country, women’s basketball and women’s lacrosse squads. A true team player, her work ethic is unparalleled and invaluable to all she works with.

Additional honors included the Athletic Director’s Special Recognition Award to Student-Athlete Advisory Committee president Lori Renner and an Honorary Saint presentation to Dr. Andrew Wolff.

Male Athlete of the Year
Kjell Crooke, Jr., Men’s Soccer

Co-Female Athlete of the Year
Maame Amponsah, Sr., Women’s Basketball
Anna Macedoina, Jr., Women’s Swimming

Linda McMahon Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Brian Tinsman, Sr., Men’s Swimming

Linda McMahon Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Anna Macedonia, Jr., Women’s Swimming

James Shelton Award
Karen Nevin, Jr.

Team MVP and Coaches Awards
Men’s Cross Country – Mike Dalrymple (Coaches Award)
Women’s Cross Country – Rachael Raske (Coaches Award)
Men’s Soccer – Kjell Crooke (MVP)
Men’s Soccer – William Brahmstadt (Coaches Award)
Women’s Soccer – Paige Pierson (MVP)
Women’s Soccer – Jaimie Nguyen (Coaches Award)
Women’s Soccer – Beth Wiggins (Coaches Award)
Men’s Basketball – John Magnani (Coaches Award)
Women’s Basketball – Maame Amponsah (MVP)
Women’s Basketball – Jessica Hopkins (Coaches Award)
Women’s Basketball – Julie Tomesheski (Coaches Award)
Men’s Swimming – Tom Baroz (MVP)
Men’s Swimming – Brian Tinsman (Coaches Award)
Women’s Swimming – Kim Rizzo (MVP)
Women’s Swimming – Anna Macedonia (Coaches Award)
Golf – Peter Johns (MVP)
Golf – Nick Ryerson (Coaches Award)
Men’s Lacrosse – Mike Smith (Coaches Award)
Women’s Lacrosse – Stephanie Flood (Coaches Award)