Home >  Academics >  Commencement 2014 >  Commencement Speaker  



Commencement Speaker

Read Dr. Bundschuh's Undergraduate Commencement Address
Read Chairman Fitzpatrick's Graduate Commencement Address

Marymount University's 2011 Commencement ceremonies were held on Sunday, May 8, at D.A.R. Constitution Hall in Washington, DC. More than 480 undergraduates and 370 graduate students crossed the stage to receive their degrees.

The Undergraduate Commencement Address was given at the morning ceremony by retiring Marymount President James E. Bundschuh. He noted, “This is my final Commencement at Marymount, and I am honored to share the Class of 2011’s celebration in this special way.” During Dr. Bundschuh’s 10-year tenure as president, Marymount achieved record enrollments; completed the largest capital campaign in its history; constructed a new academic and residential complex; added an undergraduate Honors Program and the University’s first doctoral programs; expanded study abroad offerings; and strengthened its Campus Ministry and community-service initiatives.

At the afternoon ceremony, Marymount's Graduate Commencement Address was given by Barry J. Fitzpatrick, chairman of Marymount’s Board of Trustees. A retired banking executive, Mr. Fitzpatrick spent 35 years with First Virginia Banks, Inc., where he rose to the position of chairman, president, and CEO. With the acquisition of First Virginia Banks by BB&T Corporation in 2003, he became chairman of the board of BB&T Virginia and a member of the Board and the Executive Committee of BB&T Corporation. Mr. Fitzpatrick retired from BB&T of Virginia in 2004 and from the Board and Executive Committee of BB&T Corporation in 2010. His professional and community service includes three years on the Federal Reserve Board of Richmond; 10 years as a member of the Board of the Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges; and more than 15 years as a member of Marymount’s Board of Trustees. Mr. Fitzpatrick will receive the honorary degree Doctor of Humane Letters in recognition of his outstanding integrity and leadership in the banking industry and his dedication to excellence in higher education.

Additional honorees at this year's Commencement ceremonies included:

- Samuel Hazo, a National Book Award finalist and author of more than 30 books of poetry, fiction, essays, and plays, will receive an honorary doctorate at the undergraduate ceremony. He is the founder and director of the International Poetry Forum in Pittsburgh, PA and the McAnulty Distinguished Professor of English Emeritus at Duquesne University. Dr. Hazo also served as State Poet of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania from 1993 to 2003. He is being recognized for his accomplishments as a poet, author, and teacher, and for his advocacy of the value of the written and spoken word in the modern world.

- Marlene A. and Frederic V. Malek, longtime Marymount friends and benefactors, will receive the University's highest honor, The Majella Berg Medal, at the graduate ceremony. Mrs. Malek, a community activist, healthcare advocate, and patron of the arts, is president of Friends of Cancer Research. A Marymount Nursing alumna, she has served on the University’s Board of Trustees for more than 25 years and is currently its vice chair. Mrs, Malek has also served on the boards of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Ford’s Theatre, Bridges of Understanding, and Vital Voices Global Partnership. Mr. Malek, a respected business and civic leader, is the founder and chairman of Thayer Lodging Group and Thayer Capital Partners. He previously served as president of Marriott Hotels and Resorts and of Northwest Airlines. His distinguished career in public service includes serving as an advisor to Presidents Nixon, Ford, Reagan, and George H.W. Bush. He was recently inducted into the Horatio Alger Society, and both Mr. and Mrs. Malek are recipients of the Woodrow Wilson Award for Corporate Citizenship. Marymount University is honoring them for their professional accomplishments, extensive public service, and commitment to excellence in higher education.