Marymount University

Undergraduate Catalog 2013-14


Administrative Officers

Matthew D. Shank, President and Chief Executive Officer

Sherri Lind Hughes, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Chris E. Domes, Vice President for Student Development and Enrollment Management

Shelley Dutton, Vice President for Communications and Marketing

Ralph D. Kidder, Vice President for Financial Affairs and Treasurer

Joseph D.W. Foster, Esq., Vice President for Development

Academic Affairs

Liane M. Summerfield, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Theresa Cappello, Dean, Malek School of Health Professions

George D. Cheatham, Jr., Dean, School of Arts and Sciences

Zary Mostashari, Dean, Library and Learning Services

Lois T. Stover, Dean, School of Education and Human Services

James F. Ryerson, Dean, School of Business Administration

Victor Betancourt, Executive Director, Center for Global Education

Larry Hoffman, Executive Director, Reston Center

Doris Lyons, Grants Consultant

Carolyn Oxenford, Executive Director, Center for Teaching and Learning

Michael Schuchert, Executive Director, Institutional Effectiveness

Scott Spencer, University Registrar

Communications and Marketing

Laurie Callahan, Director, Public Relations

Matt Dunham, Art Director

Cindy Lewis, Web Manager


Niko Campbell, Director, Development Services

Erin Schlesing, Director, Annual Fund

Yolanda Gibson, Director, Alumni Relations

Financial Affairs

Bing Hobson, Executive Director, Human Resource Services

Peggy Axelrod, Director, Budget and Risk Management

Katherine Jewett, University Bursar

Theresa Kuron, Manager, Barnes and Noble Bookstore

Upen Malani, Director, Campus Planning and Management

Ronald Somervell, Controller

Student Development and Enrollment Management

Kelly DeSenti, Dean for Student Development

Christina Rajmaira, Dean for Student Services

Michael Canfield, Director, Undergraduate Admissions

Joseph Ablao, Director, Special Events and Conference Services

Eric Hols, Director, Campus Safety and Transportation

Paul Lynch, Director, Campus and Residential Services

Sara Meehan, Director, Enrollment Information Systems

Aline Orfali, Director, International Student Services

Debbie Raines, Director, Financial Aid

Francesca Reed, Director, Graduate Admissions

Shelly St. Ledger, General Manager, Sodexo Dining Services

Vincent Stovall, Director, Student Activities

Debra Warren, Director, Athletics

Diane White, Director, Student Health Services

David Wilmes, Executive Director, Center for Career Services

Catalog Contents

Undergraduate Catalog 2013-14

General Information


Financial Information

Academic Support Services

Academic Information and Policies

University Requirements and the Liberal Arts Core

Academic Opportunities

Undergraduate Programs

Course Descriptions

University Leadership

Notices to Students